Arts and Health Research Cluster

About

The Arts and Health research cluster is interested in the interaction and relationship between arts, health and well-being. The group was formed as a result of individual research interests concerned with the interplay between arts, health and well-being. We wish to draw on these interests to create a hub for networking and collaboration between academics and practitioners in this field. 
The cluster aims to facilitate collaborative research between arts and health disciplines. We welcome a diverse array of theoretical perspectives and research methodologies and have a particular interest in promoting and developing interdisciplinary research between humanities and STEM experts. 
This is a new research cluster, bringing together a number of academics, practitioners and service users already engaged in arts and health related research and seeking new members interested in this field.  The cluster is led by Dr Hilary Moss and is hosted by the Irish World Academy of Music and Dance.
The group aims to:
·         Bring together an interested body of researchers, from a wide variety of disciplines, to share research interests in arts, health and humanities
·         Facilitate trans-disciplinary research partnerships and research groups within UL and potential cross-departmental funding applications
·         Embed arts, health and humanities research at UL
·         Connect the UL/LSAD/LIT arts and health research group to the national and international field of research and practice

Terms of Reference

The research cluster will be open to any academics interested in arts, health and humanities research. 
The group will be open to all research methodologies, actively encouraging artistic output as well as research activity.  
The group will keep person-centred care at the centre of their work and remit. Service user representatives will be actively sought to participate in the research group.

The research cluster will be grounded in faculty teaching and learning in the arena of arts, health and humanities.        

The term ‘Arts’ refers to all art forms as defined by The Arts Council of Ireland (2006).

The term ‘Health’ draws on the World Health Organisation definition of health as ‘a complete state of physical, mental and societal well-being, not merely the absence of disease or infirmity’ (WHO 1946). The term ‘health’ is intended as a broad term, concerned with all aspects of health that contribute to being an integrated social being.        

Keywords:

Arts; health; well-being; arts and health; arts therapies; medical humanities; health humanities; narratives; narrative medicine; well-being. 
  

Members (to enquire about joining the cluster please contact Hilary Moss).

Chair: Dr Hilary Moss                              Hilary.Moss@ul.ie

Aileen Dillane                                          Aileen.Dillane@ul.ie

Amanda Clifford                                      Amanda.Clifford@ul.ie

Anne MacFarlane                                   Anne.MacFarlane@ul.ie

Ciara Breathnach                                   Ciara.Breathnach@ul.ie

David Meagher                                       David.Meagher@ul.ie

Deirdre Munro                                        Deirdre.Munro@ul.ie

Emma Fisher                                         Emma.Fisher@mic.ul.ie

Helen Phelan                                         Helen.Phelan@ul.ie

Imelda Doolan                                       Imelda.Doolan@ul.ie

James O’Hare                                       jamesohare1@yahoo.co.uk

Jane Kavanagh                                     Jane.Kavanagh@ul.ie

Jason Noone                                         Jason.Noone@ul.ie

Jennifer McMahon                                Jennifer.McMahon@ul.ie

Jennifer Schweppe                               Jennifer.Schweppe@ul.ie

Jennifer Stritch                                     Jennifer.Stritch@lit.ie

Jessica O’Donoghue                            Jessica.ODonoghue@ul.ie

Joanne Shanahan                                Joanne.Shanahan@ul.ie

Karol Mullaney-Dignam                        Karol.Mullaney-Dignam@ul.ie

Kathleen Turner                                    Kathleen.Turner@ul.ie

Leonard O’Sullivan                               Leonard.OSullivan@ul.ie

Lisa McLoughlin                                   Lisa.C.McLoughlin@ul.ie

Mats Melin                                            Mats.Melin@ul.ie

Matthew Herring                                   Matthew.Herring@ul.ie

Michelle O’Donoghue                           Michelle.ODonoghue@ul.ie

Orfhlaith Ni Bhriain                              Orfhlaith.NiBhriain@ul.ie

Roisin Cahalan                                    Roisin.Cahalan@ul.ie

Sarah Hyde                                         Sarah.Hyde@ul.ie

Sinead Dinneen                                  sineadcdinneen@gmail.com

Tracy Fahey                                        Tracy.Fahey@lit.ie

Triona McCaffrey                                 Triona.McCaffrey@ul.ie

William O’Connor                                 William.OConnor@ul.ie

Yianna Liatsos                                     Yianna.liatsos@ul.ie

Events 2017

The Arts and Health research cluster launch their group on 30th March 2017 at the Health Hub, Limerick. Free day of arts and health events led by researchers in this field. For more information contact Hilary.moss@ul.ie or roisin.cahalan@ul.ie.

Date for the diary!

Wednesday 27th September 2017: Arts and Health Research event at the Irish World Academy of  Music and Dance 1.15 – 530pm. More details: Hilary.moss@ul.ie

ArthritisNo1Handsformail

The Claw by Artist and Painter Jo Killalee. This artwork was completed at Tallaght Hospital as part of an art programme for people living with rheumatoid arthritis. Killalee used her xray of her damaged hand to create this beautiful artwork.

 

 

 

Louisiana folkesundhed Institut kamagra læger noter for manglende skole